5 comments on “Day 10 — Leviticus 26:27-Numbers 8:14

  1. To answer your question first, I think it becomes a sin to “count” when you become consumed with being better than others. God says “consider others better than yourself.” And to be honest, even when you have the “higher” number, being so consumed that you are doing everything right and have no room for growth, is not right either.

  2. I too was glad to be out of all the laws, but to jump to counting, I thought it was gonna be a long read. However, I had a thought… God truly KNOWS His people. In the opening of the book of Numbers, he names (I think) the leaders of the tribes. He doesn’t go to Moses and Aaron and say, whose is charge of this tribe and that. He already knows. Man that is comforting that He knows my name. And not only my name, but He know what I am good at and not so good at. He knows my struggles, even today.

    Also another cool thing was that the number of the Levites was almost exactly the same as all the firstborn in Israel at the time that God commanded Moses to count. Had they waited a few days or years, the numbers likely wouldn’t have been so close. But God’s timing is so perfect that He knew he could take one tribe for all the firstborn. Man, that is cool!

    I am enjoying my daily reading in His Word. Thanks again, Jones, for the challenge!!! You have inspired me to grow closer with my Lord.

  3. I was so glad to be finished with Leviticus and then came Numbers. It was a little tiring when we read all 12 tribes offerings and they were all the same.

    I agree with Grace that when our focus in on counting people and comparing church to other churches, that is wrong. I think we need to keep our focus on God.

  4. One question Jones or anyone else who can help me. When God told them to pay for the 273 extra Israelites, did they all have to pay or only 273 of them paid and if that’s the case how did the decide which 273 had to pay?

    • I actually haven’t ever thought about that before. I did some checking though and actually came up with two potential thoughts…

      1. Birthright was huge in that culture so it’s possible that they started with the oldest of the firstborn and worked their way down so that the 273 YOUNGEST firstborn had to pay.

      2. The 1365 shekels was paid out of public money that was used for community expenses.

Leave a Reply

