7 comments on ““Leader” Does NOT Equal “Manager”

  1. Sometimes “leaders” are good starters and poor finishers. They want all the vision and none of the actual work. I think, this is a true pitfall.

    Anyone can dream (you don’t have to be a leader). But if a leader dreams and gets “managers ” to do and supervise the work then goes on to the next dream, It is no wonder “people” get mad. They have every right to.

    Each leader needs to ask him/herself, Am I too good to do the work? If so, he/she has a real problem. Leaders must lead by example.

    (Please note: All of the above is hypothetical and aims to point fingers at no one.)

    • Absolutely correct.

      Great leaders are the first to sacrifice, the first to sweat and the first to get dirty. They’re often the last to quit and last to go home. A great leader is never to good to the work. Great leaders build community and rally people to a cause.

    • Helen, after thinking about your comment awhile, I decided it tied in well to the next post in the series. So I went and rewrote the beginning to include these words, “Anyone can dream (you don’t have to be a leader). But if a leader dreams and gets “managers ” to do and supervise the work then goes on to the next dream, It is no wonder “people” get mad. They have every right to.”

      I only included it because you said what I had tried to say, but you’d said it better than I had. Thank you for sharing those thoughts with me!

  2. Wow, spot on and I needed to hear this as I tend to manage and lead as a youth pastor. I need to surround myself with more managing types….
    Thanks for sharing!

  3. Pingback: Leaders Invest In What They’re Leading « Adam Jones

  4. Pingback: Great Leaders Are Humble Leaders « Adam Jones

Leave a Reply

