3 comments on “Don’t Let Basketball Keep You Out Of Heaven

  1. This so true and somehow we seem like zealots who have unrealistic expectations of people who have given their lives to Christ. I am under illusion that when I gave my life to Christ it meant everything not just what I wanted. I talked with a parent last night and I said I would love to see their son at Church more often and she began to tell me how busy he is with “good” things.
    Sure basketball can be good but when we allow ourselves to fill our lives with good things and not Jesus we will fail every time. Eventually all those good things will fade away and we will stand before Jesus as spiritual beggars.

    • Makes me think of Matthew 7:21-23…
      “Not everyone who says to me, ‘Lord, Lord,’ will enter the kingdom of heaven, but only those who do the will of my Father who is in heaven. Many will say to me on that day, ‘Lord, Lord, did we not prophesy in your name and in your name drive out demons and in your name perform many miracles?’ Then I will tell them plainly, ‘I never knew you. Away from me, you evildoers!’”

  2. Pingback: Top Ten Posts For November 2011 « Adam Jones

Leave a Reply

